top of page


Two huge days at the Goldenstates for the Burson Auto Parts Australian Top Fuel Championship and the Australian Drag Racing Championships for Top Doorslammer and Top Fuel Motorcycle have come to a spectacular close at the Perth Motorplex this evening.

Despite bitterly cold conditions, there were smiles all round as the event winners were celebrated in front of a packed house.

Taking out the Top Fuel honours this evening was Damien Harris in the Rapisarda Autosport International Top Fuel Dragster, who took out the A-Final victory over Phil Lamattina to lift the big trophy at the end of the night. In the B and C Final, Peter Xiberras and Phil Read took the wins over Wayne Newby and Kyle Putland respectively. For Harris and Rapisarda Autosport International, it was the second event win of the weekend with the entry also claiming the postponed Alice Springs A-Final victory on Friday.

“We are definitely happy with that result, it is good to double up this weekend with the Alice Springs A-Final win also and we couldn’t have asked for a better weekend,” Rapisarda Autosport International’s Santo Jnr Rapisarda said.

“We struggled a little today with some broken blower belts in the first round and the final, so the car was actually running quicker than it ever had before earlier in those runs, so there is a lot of potential there and everyone likes to see those nice short numbers!

“We were racing in memory of Grant Foster this weekend, and so we are especially happy we could get this result. Thank you to Atlantic Oils for their support, and also to the team who did an outstanding job all weekend long.”

“Overall, this is a great way to start the Top Fuel Championship with two round wins and we take a nice points lead now. It was nice to finalise the Alice Springs event and take a win for that event and then back it up again with the Perth win, it is a great result for the team, for the Rapisarda family, and for Atlantic Oil.” Harris added.

In ADRC Top Doorslammer, the Goldenstates bragging rights were claimed by Daniel Gregorini, who took a solo pass in the A-Final when Alice Springs winner John Zappia was unfortunately unable to front after suffering too much damage when he popped the blower in his round two win over Kelvin Lyle. Clinching the B-Final was Stuart Moresby over Mark Chapman, while Ryan Moresby completed a solo pass in the C-Final.

“We started off yesterday by smoking the tyre on the first run like most did on the first hit, and then backed that up with a 5.75 in Q2. It got kind of lean and burnt a piston up, so we didn’t go out for Q3. Then tonight we went 5.75 and then 5.76 in the second round which gave us enough points to go to the finals,” Gregorini explained.

“Unfortunately, John didn’t make the finals as he had to do an engine swap after blowing it up on the round before, so we had a solo. The track was getting quite cold, and we went after it a bit knowing Zappia wasn’t coming out – we wound it up a bit but went a bit too far, but that is what happens sometimes; we are always chasing the data.

“Obviously it is not the way you want to finish the meeting but at the end of the day, it still takes all the same effort from myself and Lisa and the team to get here and do all the work, so we will still accept it as a win.

“Thank you to all of my crew, the Perth Motorplex, ANDRA, Top Fuel Australia and the ADRC for putting this event together, and also to our sponsors: Scratch and Match Autocolour, Kerb Doctor, Westcoast Siteworks, Kendall Oils, S&S Industries, Dalisa Estate Winery, Signbiz WA, Go Print, Dirty Detailing, Final Drive Engineering, Gforce Race Cars, Resolution Racing Services, DMPE, Applied Automotive and Kinetic Engineering.”

On two wheels, the ADRC Top Fuel Motorcycles were again crowd pleasers, with Benny Stevens impressing to take out the A-Final win while Jay Upton took the B-Final win over Rob Cassar – who accepted the tree following a weekend-long struggle with his bike.

For results from today’s action at the Perth Motorplex, please click here

With two rounds of both the Burson Auto Parts Australian Top Fuel Championship and three rounds of the Australian Drag Racing Championships for Top Doorslammer and Top Fuel Motorcycle now in the books, all eyes will turn to Willowbank Raceway in the New Year for New Year Nitro, the next round of the respective title chases.

The New Year Nitro event at Willowbank Raceway will be run first across January 6 and 7, followed soon after by a newly announced Australia Day event at Sydney Dragway across January 27 and 28.

Both events will see the fastest drag racing vehicles in the country on track over two massive days and nights with vital championship points on the line as drivers continue their battle for the biggest prize in drag racing – the Stan Sainty Cup.

Top Fuel headlines both events, with the massive New Year Nitro line up to also include Top Doorslammer, Top Fuel Motorcycle, Pro Mod, Pro Stock and Sportsman categories. Joining the on-track action is a huge firework spectacular, show and shine, food trucks, and more. For event information, visit

To learn more about the Burson Auto Parts Australian Top Fuel Championship and the Australian Drag Racing Championships, visit

382 views0 comments


bottom of page